Karki, Yadav bat Province-II to victory – The Himalayan Times – Nepal’s No.1 English Daily Newspaper

Karki, Yadav bat Province-II to victory - The Himalayan Times - Nepal's No.1 English Daily Newspaper



Province-II and Sudurpashchim Province recorded victories in the Wai Wai Under-19 National Cricket Tournament here today.

Province-II defeated Bagmati Province by six wickets riding on brilliant knocks from Santosh Karki and Bibek Yadav at the TU Stadium.

Batting first, Bagmati were bowled out for 253 runs in 49.3 overs before Province-II raced to 255-4 with 54 balls to spare.

Chasing a huge target, Province-II openers Karki and Rohan BK (26) put 64 runs on the board in 13 overs.

Province-II then lost Trit Raj Joshi (one) and Amir Yadav (seven) to be 93-3 before Karki and skipper Yadav added 144 runs to take the team close to victory. Karki top scored with 111 off 115 balls hitting 14 boundaries and three sixes.

Yadav and Sunny Singh (nine not out) then took the team home without further loss. Yadav struck six fours and seven sixes in his unbeaten 86 off 73 balls. Tilak Bhandari took two wickets for Bagmati, while Pratis GC and Prashant Mahat bagged one each.

Earlier, Bagmati posted fighting total riding on half centuries from Swapnil Adhikari and Bipin Shahi.

Adhikari top scored with 83-ball 85 hitting six fours and five sixes, while Shahi struck six boundaries and a six in his 83-ball 59. Pratik Shrestha was the next contributor with 15 runs, while Farid Khan and Bibek Magar scored 11 each. Puraj Dhungel was the pick of the Province-II bowlers taking 3-33, while Bibek Yadav, Gulsan Jha, Ajay Yadav and Pradip Paswan grabbed one wicket each.

At Mulani, Sudurpashchim hammered Karnali by 10 wickets. Batting first, Karnali were bowled out for a paltry 66 runs in 16.5 overs before Sudurpashchim raced to 69-0 in 12.1 overs. Sudurpashchim skipper Khadak Bohara scored 42-ball 41 not out with the help of five fours and two sixes, while Naresh Bhatta struck three fours in his unbeaten 16 off 31 balls. Earlier, Prakash Jaishi top scored for Karnali with 15, while Ramesh Budha (12) and Rupak Dahal (11) were the other batsmen who contributed in double figures.

Aakash Chand, Narayan Joshi and Sher Malla took three wickets each for Sudurpashchim, while Narendra Saud bagged one.

A version of this article appears in the print on November 29, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *