Khadka, Gurung elected NC vice-president – The Himalayan Times – Nepal’s No.1 English Daily Newspaper

Khadka, Gurung elected NC vice-president - The Himalayan Times - Nepal's No.1 English Daily Newspaper

Khadka secured the highest votes while Gurung beat heavyweight Gachchhedar by a narrow margin


Nepali Congress leaders Purna Bahadur Khadka and Dhanaraj Gurung have been elected as the vice-president of the party.

According to NC’s Subhash Adhikary, who was present at the , Khadka registered a comfortable win whereas the fight for the next spot was tight between Gurung and ‘party heavyweight’ Bijay Kumar Gachchhedar.

While Khadka and Gachchhedar hail from Deuba’s camp, Gurung was representing Shekhar Koirala’s panel.

Koirala was defeated by Deuba in the run for party president.

Meanwhile, the other candidates that too have now been left behind in the race are Chandra Bhandari, Sujata Koirala, Mahesh Acharya and Divyashwari Shah.

Mahesh Acharya was the only independent contender in the polls for vice-president while Bhandari, Koirala and Shah were representing Shekhar Koirala, Prakash Man Singh and Bimlendra Nidhi, respectively.

The election officials are making preparations to make an official announcement of the poll results.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *